Greater Things

“For you are indeed good, and your words are truth, and you have promised me these good things. ” 2 Samuel 7:28

This coming week, I am entering into a season that I’ve never walked through before. In January, I found out that I have a shoulder injury that requires surgery. The last time I had surgery was 25 years ago, and I’ve never broken a bone or severely injured myself. So as you can imagine, when I heard the doctor say “you need surgery, you’ll be in a sling for 6 weeks, you can’t work” I was immediately overwhelmed with fear.  I remember that day clearly because it was pouring rain, and as I sat in the car taking it all in, I sobbed just like the sky.

I cried because I am a self-employed hairstylist, I own my business and I was just told I wouldn’t be working for at least 10 weeks. I cried because I was afraid of the pain that was promised to come with this recovery. And I cried as I thought about all the things I wouldn’t be able to do for myself…like wash my hair, brush my hair, get dressed, cook…all these things I would need help to do because I’ll only have my left hand to use for at least 6 weeks. And then after that, everything is slow as you begin physical therapy to gain back strength and range of motion.

All this to say, that for those moments, and even days following I didn’t once stop and think upon the promises I knew in Gods word that said He would help me through this. That this was part of His plan. I didn’t stop to see the prayers that He was answering through this trial. I didn’t stop to see His goodness. All I could think about was what I was going to endure.

Its been about 2 months since I first got this news, and since then, I had to make the choice to close my business because my husband and I couldn’t afford to keep it open while being out of work for 2 months. It was one of the hardest decisions I’ve made, but I knew it was a sacrifice God was asking me to make. I’ve also had to let go of control of some areas in my life that I’ve never had to before and learn to trust other people to do things that I’ve always done on my own. And for the first time in my adult life I will have to let others take care of me, when I’ve always been the one taking care of others.

Through all of this, God has taught me something that I NEVER would have learned if I wasn’t faced with this trial. And that’s where the beauty of this story comes in. GOD HAS A PLAN! He’s had one all along, and He knew I would never grow to where He needed me to grow without the pressure of this situation. And I am right where I’m supposed to be BECAUSE of this situation.

What are you facing today that has you focused on the negative? The loss of a job? A difficult relationship? An injury or illness? Whatever it is, I promise that if you give it to God and surrender your future to His hand, HE WILL BRING SOMETHING GOOD! You can trust His name for greater things!!

“And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love Him.” Romans 8:28

You often hear the saying “God won’t bring you to it, if He wont bring you through it.” Well, as I go into surgery Monday, I am choosing to believe this with all my heart. I’ll see the other side of this storm one day, and I will see all the good that is promised to come, and it will be by HIS power and grace that I get there.

“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” Philippians 4:13

“I will not fear, for you are with me. I’ve seen this fight from the victory! No power in hell can stand against me! I’ve seen this fight from the victory!”

Leave a comment